Disclosure Pamphlet Rules Filed
Out-of-State Broker Exam Scores No Longer Accepted As of October 1, 2013, the Oregon Real Es- tate Agency no longer accepts national sec- tion scores of broker license examinations passed in other states. License applicants who apply on or after October 1, 2013 must take and pass both the state and national sec- tions of the Oregon broker license exam. For more information about the broker license exam, please read the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin. All licensees are required by law to main- tain current mailing and e-mail addresses with theAgency. Failure to update either ad- dress within 10 days of a change may result in administrative action. Agency Must Be Notified of E-Mail Changes The Oregon Real Estate Agency uses e-mail as its main form of communication to real estate licensees.
Final amendments to OAR 863-015-0215, the InitialAgency Disclosure Pamphlet rule, were permanently filed effective October 1, 2013. The amendments to the rule specify the contents of the Initial Agency Disclosure Pamphlet, define “first contact,” and provide for how pamphlets are delivered to potential clients. The exact wording of the pamphlet is not in the rule; the rule simply lists the required content of the pamphlet. The Agency has posted a sample Initial Agency Disclosure Pamphlet on its website that complies with the requirements found in rule. Editor’s Note: A licensed real estate bro- ker or principal real estate broker is required to give a copy of an Initial Agency Disclosure Pamphlet to each consumer the broker will represent. The pamphlet describes the legal relationship between a broker and the con- sumer when the broker acts as the consumer’s “agent.”
Advanced Practices Course Required for New Brokers and Property Managers All active licensees must compete 30 hours of continuing education from certified continuing education providers, including the 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course (LARRC), before they renew their licenses. But new brokers and property managers must take specific courses for their first license renewals. Brokers renewing their active licenses for the first time must complete the 27-hour Broker Advanced Practices (BAP) course in addition to the 3-hour LARRC. Property managers renewing their active licenses for the first time must complete the 27-hour Property Manager Advanced Practices (PMAP) course in addition to the 3-hour LARRC. Read “Continuing Education Required for All Active License Renewals” for more information on continuing education for active licensees.
Oregon Real Estate News-Journal
Made with FlippingBook