Discovering the US 2020

Time Zones Local Time Zone

There are nine standard time zones across the US and its territories. The four zones covering the 48 contiguous states are Pacific Standard Time, Mountain Standard Time, Central Standard Time, and Eastern Standard Time. Alaska Time Zone covers most of Alaska, and Hawaii- Aleutian Time Zone covers Alaska’s Aleutian, and the Hawaiian Islands.



Daylight Saving Time Daylight Savings Time (DST) was adopted by the US in 1918 as “An Act to preserve daylight and provide standard time for the US” Americans advance their clocks one hour during the summer months, resulting in an “extra” hour of daylight. The act was created to save energy, by reducing the amount of electricity used in the morning and evening. Although the date changes each year, generally it is the second Sunday in March and the first Sunday in November. The federal law that established DST does not require any area to observe daylight savings time. If a state chooses to observe DST, it must follow the starting and ending dates set by the law. The website, , offers a helpful map and information on the countries and territories operating in daylight savings time. Arizona (with the exception of the Navajo Nation), Hawaii, and the territories of Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, Guam, and American Samoa, do not observe DST. Instead, these areas stay on "standard time" all year long. Helpful Hint: An easy way to remember which way to reset clocks on the day DST takes effect is, “Spring forward, fall back.” Meaning clocks are advanced an hour in the spring and they move back an hour in the fall (autumn).

© 2020 Dwellworks, LLC

Page 8

Discovering the US

Made with FlippingBook - Online magazine maker