Head's Newsletter 22 April 2016


project in conjunction with the British Institute of Human Rights and the University of Queen Mary's and were at Surbiton High to present their research and conclusions on different questions, in their groups of four. The four groups spoke outstandingly well, making sure that they were well-paced, clear and articulate too. Their efforts were richly rewarded with two awards on the evening: one for the best researched project, won by Will Robson, Charlie Dore, Ayaan Azizullah and Neil Majathia and one for the audience favourite, won by Philip Chilcote, Ajay Gill, Joseph Niblett and Aaron Thaker. These awards were very pleasing considering how much time and effort had been put in. However, all boys deserve credit, not just those who won acclaim, and all four groups could have won. All involved should feel proud of the extensive projects that they produced, and thanks must go to Surbiton High for their welcoming hosting of the event, and their girls for participating to such a high standard with our boys.

The Tiffin Maths Department has been shortlisted for ‘Maths Department of the Year’ in the Times Educational Supplement Teaching Awards 2016. These awards recognise exceptional teaching, student progress and innovation for schools across the UK. The department will be attending the awards ceremony at The Grosvenor House Hotel on June 24 th where the winner will be announced. You can find the shortlist here: http://www.tesawards.co.uk/ tessa2016/shortlist


Shane Jayakrishna (right) officially handing over the Head Boy’s gown to Ali Fouladiasl, newly appointed as Head Boy.

Young Researchers Award On the evening of Monday 18 th April, 16 Year 9 students travelled to Surbiton High School to take part in a presentation evening with 16 of their school's students. They had spent three months working on a

Made with FlippingBook HTML5