2019 PRCA Media Guide - Wrangler National Finals Rodeo

Wrangler NFR Permit-Member Challenge

The annual RAM Rodeo PRCA Permit-member Challenge, hosted by the PRCA in conjunction with the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo, is a two-round competition for the Top 5 permit members in each of the PRCA’s standard events (bareback riding, steer wrestling, team roping, saddle bronc riding, tie-down roping and bull riding). The PRCA sponsors the RAM Rodeo Permit-member Challenge as part of its outreach to young contestants who are trying to make the leap to become professional rodeo contestants.


The Top 5 permit members in those events each season – based on total money won on their permits at the end of the regular season Sept. 30 – are invited to compete in the RAM Rodeo Permit-member Challenge in Las Vegas in December, concurrent with the first week of the Wrangler NFR. Team ropers whose regular partners do not qualify are matched with other partners by PROCOM. The Permit-member Challenge had its origin in 2008, when PRCA stock contractors invited permit members in the roughstock events to ride horses and bulls at the Benny Binion Bucking Horse and Bull Sale, and offered prizes as part of that event. The PRCA added timed events to the Permit-member Challenge in 2014; the Rookie Ride Off bull riding competition was added in 2017.

Permit-member Challenge Champions 2009-2018

Bareback riding 2009 Kyle Brennecke 2010 Justin Miller 2011 Blade Elliott 2012 Tim O’Connell 2013 Taylor Broussard 2014 Wyatt Bloom 2015 Clayton Biglow 2016 Wyatt Bloom 2017 Tyler Berghuis 2018 Jesse Pope Steer wrestling 2014 Noah Lassa 2015 Jesse Brown 2016 Jesse Brown 2017 Bear Pascoe 2018 Gavin Soileau

2011 Spencer Wright 2012 Allen Boore 2013 CoBurn Bradshaw 2014 Rusty Wright 2015 Dalton Rixen 2016 Clay Stremler 2017 Johnny Espeland 2018 Tegan Smith Tie-down roping 2014 Cole Robinson 2015 Cole Robinson Bull riding 2009 Justin Scarborough 2010 Ty Pozzobon 2011 Daniel Schlobom 2012 Joe Frost 2013 Sage Kimzey 2014 Tyler Taylor 2015 Derek Kolbaba 2016 Aaron Williams 2017 Colby Demo 2018 Clayton Sellars 2016 John Douch 2017 Cody Craig 2018 Luke Potter

Team roping 2014 Tucker Dale/Dustin Searcy 2015 Lane Santos-Karney/Ty Romo 2016 Jordan Tye/Ty Arnold 2017 Jeff Flenniken/Wyatt Hansen 2018 Justin Farber and Brushton Minton

Saddle bronc riding 2009 Cole Elshere 2010 Cole Elshere



Made with FlippingBook Learn more on our blog