Got To Be NC October Newsletter

NC Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Services

Page 8 Got To Be NC October 2018

How to make online reviews work for you By Jack Nales, Marketing Specialist

According to recent studies , 97 percent of customers read online reviews and 88 percent of online shoppers trust reviews posted to consumer websites over word of mouth. Who would have thought the opinions of strangers would become more important than people you know?

Whether you sell multiple products in multiple locations or just have a small farm store, online reviews are often a deciding factor in whether a customer visits your store or website. Google and other search sites increasingly are looking at consumer reviews in determining what companies/products to show. How do you encourage customers to post favorable reviews when review sites prohibit soliciting reviews? Here are three tips: 1 Give your customers a great first impression. Even if only a prospective customer, a person’s first interaction with your business (on your website, the phone, email or in person) sets the stage for their perception of your business and their future interactions. 2 Ask loyal customers and those you know who have had pleasant experiences with you to leave a 5-star rating on a review site to build a strong foundation and online reputation. Let them know that leaving their high opinion will help others in search of the same things they were able to find through your business. 3 Include links to your review profiles in customer correspondence (receipts, email signatures, marketing materials and on your website.)

STAFF DIRECTORY

Specialty Foods

Sherry Barefoot

919-707-3154

Sherry.Barefoot@ncagr.gov

Agritourism

Annie Baggett

919-707-3120

Annie.Baggett@ncagr.gov

Business Development

Annette Dunlap

919-707-3117

Annette.Dunlap@ncagr.gov

Small Farms Assistance Program

Archie Hart

919-707-3068

Archie.Hart@ncagr.gov

Got To Be NC Program

Jamie Hall

919-707-3152

Jamie.Hall@ncagr.gov

Domestic Marketing

Tim Parrish

919-707-3137

Tim.Parrish@ncagr.gov

Food Service Marketing

Chad Blackwelder

919-707-3150

Chad.Blackwelder@ncagr.gov

Farmers Markets, Roadside Stands

Kevin Hardison

919-707-3123

Kevin.Hardison@ncagr.gov

Dairy, Equine

Steve Lathrop

336-402-5817

Steven.Lathrop@ncagr.gov

Dietician

Freda Butner

919-707-3110

Freda.Butner@ncagr.gov

Retail Marketing

Bruce Whitehead

919-707-3140

Bruce.Whitehead@ncagr.gov

Retail Marketing

Randy Maness

919-707-3133

Randy.Maness@ncagr.gov

Wine & Grape

Whit Winslow

919-707-3108

Whit.Winslow@ncagr.gov

Newsletter, meats, social media

Jack Nales

919-707-3106

Jack.Nales@ncagr.gov

Got To Be NC is the official marketing program for North Carolina agriculture North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 2 West Edenton Street, Raleigh, NC 27601 919-707-3100

Made with FlippingBook - professional solution for displaying marketing and sales documents online