Previous Page  22 / 52 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 22 / 52 Next Page
Page Background


U.S. District Court Judge Milton I.


(ret.) will receive the Association’s

“Lifetime Achievement Award” at a reception

at the Standard Club on December 5…CBA

Past President

Daniel M. Kotin


the Francis J. Rooney/St. Thomas More

Award for his outstanding and dedicated

service to Loyola University School of


David C. Hilliard,

CBA Past Presi-

dent and partner at Pattishall McAuliffe

Newbury Hilliard and Geraldson LLP, was

elected chair of the Newberry Library…

Margaret C. Benson

, received the Public

Service Merit Award from Loyola Uni-

versity School of Law for her outstanding

commitment to public service and social


Karina Ayala Bermejo,


dent and CEO of Instituto del Progresso

Latino, received the Thurgood Marshall

Award from ACC…

Thomas F. Geraghty


Director of Northwestern Pritzker School

of Law’s Bluhm Legal Clinic, is retiring as

the Clinic’s Director after 41 years of out-

standing service…

Kathryn Carso Liss,


the new Director of the Schiller DuCanto

& Fleck Family Law Clinic/Law Career

Services Advisor at DePaul University

College of Law...

Sandra Yamate


of the Institute for Inclusion in the Legal

Profession, announced that the Institute

will receive a generous grant from General


Suheily Natal Davis

, Senior

Counsel, Global Labor & Employment,

for McDonald’s Corporation, is a new

associate board member of the Illinois

Equal Justice Foundation…



Managing Partner of Heyl Royster’s Chi-

cago office, is on the leadership team for

the Chicago Bar Foundation’s Investing

in Justice Campaign and a team leader for

the Greater Chicago Food Depository’s

End Hunger Campaign...U.S. Court of

Appeals Judge

Richard A. Posner


will be a featured guest on the YLS’ new

national podcast series, which will air on

Legal Talk Network...Dr.

Helene Gayle

was named the new President and CEO of

Chicago CommunityTrust...

Sara Gilloon

is the new Director of Legal Services for

the Family Defense Center...

Sara Block

received the Family Defense Center’s

Outstanding Partnership Award for her

innovative work to improve DCFS’ inter-

ventions for families impacted by domestic


Peter J. Birnbaum

, President

and CEO of Attorneys’ Title Guaranty

Fund, will receive Chicago-Kent College

of Law’s Institutional Partner Award…

Francis Patrick Murphy

, Corboy &

Demetrio P.C., will become Vice President

of the Illinois Lawyers’ Assistance Program.


Public Interest Law Initiative


which was founded and organized by the

CBA, will celebrate its 40



on November 30. At PILI’s anniversary


Bernard H. Shapiro

, Prairie

State Legal Services, Inc., will receive

the Distinguished Public Service Award,

Susan DeCostanza

, CVLS, and

Brij B.


, Jenner & Block, will receive the

Distinguished PILI Alumni Awards, and

McDermott Will & Emery LLP


receive PILI’s Pro Bono Initiative Award...

Thomas W. Abendroth,

Schiff Hardin

LLP, is the 2017 recipient of the Austin

Fleming Distinguished Service Award from

the Chicago Estate Planning Council


Peter Baugher

was a featured speaker on

“New Perspectives in Alternative Dispute

Resolution” at the Executive Guild Lawyers


Ashly A. Boesche

, a partner

at Pattishall McAulliffe Newbury Hilliard

&Geraldson LLP, was elected President of

the Chicago-Kent Alumni Board...

Seth I.


, a partner at Pattishall McAuliffe

Newbury Hilliard & Geraldson, was

appointed National Chapter Coordinator

of the Copyright Society of USA...Judge

David Hylla

, Chief Judge of the Third

Judicial Circuit, is incoming Chair of the

Conference of Chief Judges...

Joe Tilson


Co-Chair of Cozen O’Connor’s Labor &

Employment Department, was named

the 2018 Chicago Labor & Employment

Law Litigation “Lawyer of the Year”


Best Lawyers

in America...

Arthur J.


, Murphy & Smith Ltd., was a

featured speaker at a seminar entitled:

“Fundamentals of Arbitration”...


D. Tepper


Phillip N. Coover

spoke at

the Commercial Evictions and Foreclosures


Thomas R. Leavens

, Leavens

Strand & Glover LLC, was a speaker at

the National Business Institute webinar on

festival law…

Robert A. Clifford


Kevin P.



Robert P.Walsh, Jr.,


Law Offices partners, were named to the

Irish Legal 100 Group for 2017…CBA

Past President

Kerry Peck,

Peck Ritchey

LLC and

Diana M. Law,


LLP, have been invited by the ABA to speak

at the Alzheimer’s Association’s Dementia

Conference in Delaware on “Navigating

the Legal Realm of Alzheimer’s.”

Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom


received the 2017 Law Firm Pro

Bono Award from the Chicago Lawyers

Committee for Civil Rights...

James L.


was selected to lead Drinker

Biddle & Reath LLP’s Chicago office…

Ryan J. Rohlfsen

, a partner at Ropes &

Gray LLP, led a roundtable discussion at

Loyola University School of Law on “Anti-

Corruption Enforcement Trends, Compli-

ance Challenges and Best Practices for the

Food and Beverage Industry”...

Michael H.

Erde, P.C

. published “20 Estate Planning


Michael Levy

is a new associate

at Ladden & Allen Chtd....

Kathleen J.


is a new partner at Locke Lord LLP...

Anita B. Mauro,

a partner at Thompson

Coburn LLP, led a discussion on real estate

tax incentives and enterprise zone benefits

The CBA is proud to partner with the Chicago and Evanston public library systems to offer a free monthly legal

information series offering practical insight for the general public into a wide variety of everyday legal topics.

CBA members will offer their legal expertise in free seminars that will be held each month at Chicago’s Harold

Washington Library and the Evanston Public Library. The sessions are free and registration is not required. For

a complete schedule of dates and topics for 2017-2018 go to


Law At The Library